Victorians Love Libraries - a campaign to demonstrate the value of public libraries

For more information see the link on the left.

Public Libraries Victoria Network    

 

Public Libraries Victoria Network is a collaborative and advocacy organisation comprised of Victorian Local Government Public Library Services.    Activities range from information sharing and training to setting up of consortia to conduct projects and purchase materials in a collaborative manner. 

Victoria has 47 public library services.  There are 34 services operated by individual councils, 11 regional library corporations which provide services for a number of councils, one shared library service operated by the City of Ballarat for itself and six other municpalities  and the Vision Australia Information and Library service which provides services to the print-impaired.

Throughout Victoria there are 262 branch libraries, 27 mobile libraries and 27 other service points.  Branch and mobile libraries are open 10,896 hours per week and receive more than 27 million visits each year.  2.5 million people or 46.2% of the Victorian population belong to a public library.

PLVN has as its vision : A dynamic and effective network of Victorian public library services.

and its mission : To collaborate, to advocate and to represent the mutual interests of member libraries.

 

Executive Committee Members 2013-14:

President: John Murrell, West Gippsland Regional Library Corporation - john.murrell@plvn.net.au

Vice President: Patti Manolis, Geelong Regional Library Corporation - patti.manolis@plvn.net.au

Secretary and Public Officer: Karyn Siegmann, Bayside Library Service - karyn.siegmann@plvn.net.au

Treasurer: Joseph Cullen - Eastern Regional Libraries - joseph.cullen@plvn.net.au;

 

Committee Members

Michael Byrne (michael.byrne@plvn.net.au), Nerida Dye (nerida.dye@plvn.net.au), Chris Kelly (chrisk@brimbank.vic.gov.au), Chris Mackenzie (chris.mackenzie@plvn.net.au) and Jenny Ruffy (jenny.ruffy@plvn.net.au).

PLVN has a moderated mailing list which is open to everyone working in Victorian public libraries.  This is used to disseminate information and act as a forum on issues. To apply to join go to http://lists.vicnet.net.au/mailman/listinfo/plvn

News

The 2013 Barrett Reid Scholarship has been awarded to Dr Susie Prestney, Manager at Woodend Library, a branch of the Goldfields Library Corporation.


Since 1990, the Library Board of Victoria has awarded the Barrett Reid and the Margery C Ramsay Scholarships to develop the leadership potential of Victorian public library staff. One scholarship of up to $30,000 is awarded each year.

Syndicate content